Once a job is allocated to a resource (and the job status is Pending Dispatch), a scheduler can dispatch the job via the job details view or from the scheduling console.
Preferred notification method
Resources need to be notified when work is allocated to them. There are two ways that a resource can be notified:
- Push. Push messages are sent to the resource’s mobile phone via their internet connection. The resource must be logged into the Skedulo mobile app to receive these messages.
- SMS. Text messages are sent to the resource’s mobile number directly and can be read using their default messaging app.
Each resource should be configured with a preferred notification method. But if required, the notification method can be overridden by the scheduler, when the job is ready for dispatch.
For example, if a resource has their preferred notification method set to Push, they will receive all their job notifications via push notifications by default. However, if they do not have a stable enough internet connection to receive the push notifications, the scheduler can to temporarily change their resource’s preferred notification method to SMS.
If neither notification method is possible, a scheduler can manually log a response and set the job status to Confirmed or Declined on behalf of the resource (a text record can also be appended).
How to dispatch jobs from the Job details view or Job page
Once a date, time, and resource have been allocated to a job, a notification can be sent to the mobile worker to inform them that they have a new job in their queue.
To send a notification either click on the Dispatch button per resource or the Dispatch All button (the arrow) at the top of the resources panel.
Once Dispatch has been clicked, the scheduler is presented with a confirmation message. Click Ok to send the notification.
If there are multiple resources allocated to a job, that job’s status will only update once all resources have updated their job allocation status.
For example, three resources were allocated to the same job. One has been notified, but the other two have yet to receive the job notification (the notification has not been sent). In this scenario, the job will still appear as Pending Dispatch. Only when every resource has updated their status (i.e., both have been notified) will the job status change to “Dispatched” on the job card, in the job details, and in the job status panel.
How to dispatch jobs from the Scheduling console
To dispatch work from the scheduling console:
- Select a job card from the work list panel.
- Click on the Notify button in the action bar above the swimlanes.
NoteThe selected job(s) must have a job status of Pending Dispatch before a resource can be sent a notification.
How to dispatch jobs from the Work console
To dispatch jobs from the Work console:
- Select work with the status Pending Dispatch to trigger the display of additional action buttons above the list.
- Click the Notify button.
TipTo bulk notify a resource (or resources), or notify them again, just apply a filter to target them (for example, Allocated Resources, and Job Status), select the jobs from the results, and click Notify.
Where is the Dispatch button?
If a resource is allocated to a job, but the date and time are not defined, the Dispatch button will not be available. Once the date is set, the dispatch button will appear.
When the Dispatch or Dispatch All button is pressed, it is expected that a job notification will be sent to the allocated resource (or resources). If a notification fails, the scheduler will be notified by a warning message warning.
The information contained in the warning message can be used to identify why the notification failed to reach its destination.
No mobile number set for resource
The message No mobile number set for resource indicates the resource does not have a mobile number defined in their resource record (user profile), so they cannot receive any SMS notifications.
Resource is not logged into the mobile app
The message Resource is not logged into the mobile app is shown when the intended recipient is not (never has, or is no longer) logged into the Skedulo mobile app.
For Push notifications (only), the Dispatch button will be enabled even if the notification will fail. This is because resources will be notified about the job when they log back into Skedulo mobile app. A warning message will indicate when a failure occurs, for example, Push notification failed. Joshua Rowe is not logged into the mobile app. The job has still been dispatched and will appear in the Agenda view when the user next logs in.
No Protocol Set
The No protocol set message is shown when the resource’s current notification method cannot be completed. For example, if the resource has no “notification type” (or notification method) set in their user profile.
Dispatch to single resource from Job details
If there is a problem with dispatch to a single resource, a small orange warning triangle appears on their resource card (next to their notification preference). Clicking on this small triangle reveals a pop-up with details about the failure. For some failure types, a quick-link may help the scheduler resolve the issue.
Finding and fixing issues with dispatching jobs
The following list provides a few things you can check when the dispatch fails:
- Check to see if the dispatcher has the “Scheduler” permission set assigned in the CRM (you need that to schedule jobs).
- Check to see if the “skeduloUserType” has been set to “Scheduler” in the dispatcher’s user profile (in their CRM).
- If the dispatch fails with an error notification saying “Warning,” check that:
- The resource has installed the Skedulo mobile app on their mobile device.
- The resource is logged into the correct Skedulo server using Skedulo mobile app.
- Check that the resource has a valid device and contact number defined in their resource profile.
Was this page helpful?